around 1800. Exhibiting Art as Research

with No Comments

 

Oktober 1st 2018 to September 30th 2020, Kunstgeschichtliches Seminar, Universität Hamburg, Edmund-Siemers-Allee 1, ESA West, 20146 Hamburg, Kunsthalle Hamburg, Glockengießerwall, 20095 Hamburg

A joint research project by Prof. Dr. Petra Lange-Berndt, Kunstgeschichtliches Seminar, Universität Hamburg; Prof. Dr. Dietmar Rübel, Academy of Fine Arts, Munich, and Prof. Dr. Christoph Vogtherr, Hamburger Kunsthalle, with research assistant Isabelle Lindermann, M.A., Kunstgeschichtliches Seminar, Universität Hamburg.

Duration: 1 October 2018 to 30 September 2020

Workshop: 17 January 2019, Warburg-Haus, Hamburg

International Conference: 14 to 16 November 2019, Hamburger Kunsthalle

Art around 1800 was the programmatic title of a series of nine exhibitions staged between 1974 and 1981 at the Hamburger Kunsthalle under the wing of its director at the time, Werner Hofmann. This undertaking, which set out to visualise and write a different history of European art in conjunction with industrial, social and scientific revolutions, was a research project, an experimental approach to exhibitions, a celebration of the fine arts and a political statement. For decades this cycle exerted a paradigmatic influence on debates about academic work in art museums and about the practice of exhibition-making before the term ‘curating’ existed. This museological and scholarly process in nine episodes has so far been absent from the many current studies and projects devoted to the history of exhibiting art. In the Anglo-Saxon world, Art around 1800 is largely unknown. The rise of Curatorial Studies places the cycle squarely on the research agenda. Our collaborative venture aims to examine this multi-part project in detail and to analyse the exhibition medium from the perspective of the university, the art academy and the museum.

The research examines constructions of a “modern Europe” and “modernity” in the context of the 1970s. Narrative(s) in exhibition form will be critically interrogated and gauged from a global perspective to ascertain how relevant they still are. What policies are emerging? What alternatives have evolved within feminist or postcolonial research? By drawing on the abundant archive material, we will be asking to what extent the shows put together by the team at the Hamburger Kunsthalle with their apparently monographic titles (Ossian; Casper David Friedrich; Johann Heinrich Füssli; William Blake; Johan Tobias Sergel; William Turner; Philipp Otto Runge; John Flaxmann; Francisco Goya) were in reality thematic exhibitions. How exactly was Art around 1800 conceived? How were the spaces designed? How were the works selected? And what was the response at the time? What economic factors framed these displays? How did the cycle differ from other museum exhibitions of the period? What interdependence was there with exercises in cultural history? It can safely be claimed that, apart from presenting and analysing key works, Art around 1800 attempted to write an alternative history of art and in so doing to take issue with images of history and models of society: the objective was to offer a historical and systematic overview of aesthetic, political and technical changes occurring around 1800 and their impact on the arts of the protracted nineteenth century – a period known as the age of revolutions. At the same time, the cycle provided answers to ideas advocated by Max Horkheimer and Theodor W. Adorno at the time about a Dialectic of Enlightenment and especially the complex intertwining of emancipatory movements and self-destruction. The series thus opens up – like a kind of re-education – to a broader context, with implications for processes like confronting German fascism and establishing a strident democracy. Embedded within this curatorial methodology, with its references to the Hamburg and Vienna schools of art history, were visual forms of the protests and rebellion of 1968. But how did the project relate to incipient poststructuralist discourse and its theoreticians as these began to be read more widely in German-speaking countries? While this concept of “modern Europe” and “modernity” comes across increasingly as the antiquity of globalisation, we have not yet adequately understood the history of its images, things and processes. Hamburg’s nine-part exhibition attempted just this in exemplary form in the 1970s and placed the power of artworks centre-stage. We ask what toolbox came out of the practical scholarship of Art around 1800 and in what ways the cycle is relevant today.

Exhibitions in the cycle Art around 1800, Hamburger Kunsthalle

- Ossian and Art around 1800                                         09/05/1974 – 23/06/1974

- Casper David Friedrich                                                  14/09/1974 – 03/11/1974

- Johann Heinrich Füssli                                                   04/12/1974 – 19/01/1975

- William Blake: Around 1800                                          06/03/1975 – 27/04/1975

- Johan Tobias Sergel                                                       22/05/1975 – 21/11/1975

- William Turner and the Landscape of his Time         19/05/1976 – 18/07/1976

- Runge in his Day                                                             21/10/1977 – 08/01/1978

- John Flaxmann: Mythology and Industry                    20/04/1979 – 03/06/1979

- Goya: The Age of Revolutions                                      17/10/1980 – 04/01/1981

With the generous support of Liebelt Stiftung, Hamburg, Fritz Thyssen FoundationHamburger Kunsthalle, Universität Hamburg

Image: Suzanne Treister, MI3 (Machine Intelligence 3): William Blake, Jerusalem (ca. 1800–1820), 2018, (c) the artist

um 1800. Kunst ausstellen als wissenschaftliche Praxis

with Keine Kommentare

1. Oktober 2018 bis 30. September 2020, Kunstgeschichtliches Seminar, Universität Hamburg, Edmund-Siemers-Allee 1, ESA West, 20146 Hamburg, Kunsthalle Hamburg, Glockengießerwall, 20095 Hamburg

Ein gemeinsames Forschungsprojekt von Prof. Dr. Petra Lange-Berndt, Kunstgeschichtliches Seminar, Universität Hamburg; Prof. Dr. Dietmar Rübel, Akademie der Bildenden Künste München und Prof. Dr. Christoph Vogtherr, Hamburger Kunsthalle sowie als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin Isabelle Lindermann, M.A., Kunstgeschichtliches Seminar, Universität Hamburg.

Laufzeit: 1. Oktober 2018 bis 30. September 2020

Workshop: 17. Januar 2019, Warburg-Haus, Hamburg

Internationale Tagung: 14. bis 16. November 2019, Hamburger Kunsthalle

Kunst um 1800 ist der programmatische Titel einer neunteiligen Ausstellungsreihe, die von 1974 bis 1981 an der Hamburger Kunsthalle in Regie ihres damaligen Direktors, Werner Hofmann, realisiert wurde. Dieses Unternehmen, eine andere Geschichte der europäischen Kunst im Zusammenhang mit industriellen, gesellschaftlichen und wissenschaftlichen Umwälzungsprozessen zu visualisieren und zu schreiben, war Forschungsprojekt, Ausstellungsexperiment, Feier der Bildkünste und politische Stellungnahme. Der Zyklus prägte Debatten über wissenschaftliches Arbeiten an Kunstmuseen sowie die Praxis des Ausstellungsmachens, bevor der Begriff des Kuratierens existierte, über Jahrzehnte auf paradigmatische Weise. Dieser museale wie wissenschaftliche Prozess in neun Etappen fehlt bislang in den zahlreichen gegenwärtigen Forschungen und Projekten zur Geschichte der Kunstausstellung. Insbesondere im englischsprachigen Raum ist Kunst um 1800 weitgehend unbekannt. So geriet die Reihe ausgerechnet mit dem Aufkommen der Curatorial Studies zum Desiderat. Unser Kooperationsprojekt möchte sich diesem mehrteiligen Projekt ausführlich widmen und das Medium Ausstellung aus den Perspektiven von Universität, Kunstakademie sowie Museum analysieren.

Das Forschungsvorhaben untersucht über den Kontext der 1970er Jahre Konstruktionen einer „europäischen Moderne“. Diese Erzählung(en) in Ausstellungsform sollen kritisch befragt sowie aus einer globalen Perspektive auf ihre Aktualität hin diskutiert werden. Welche Politiken zeichnen sich ab? Was für Alternativen wurden innerhalb feministischer oder postkolonialer Forschungen entwickelt? Wir möchten anhand der umfangreichen Archivalien untersuchen, inwieweit es sich bei den vom Team der Hamburger Kunsthalle erarbeiteten Ausstellungen mit ihren monographisch klingenden Obertiteln (Ossian; Caspar David Friedrich; Johann Heinrich Füssli; William Blake; Johan Tobias Sergel; William Turner; Philipp Otto Runge; John Flaxmann; Francisco Goya) vielmehr um thematische Ausstellungen handelt. Wie genau war Kunst um 1800 konzipiert? Wie steht es um Raumgestaltung, Werkauswahl sowie die damalige Rezeption? In was für Ökonomien waren diese Displays eingebunden? Wie unterscheidet sich der Zyklus von anderen musealen Ausstellungen der Zeit? Was für Interdependenzen bestehen zu kulturhistorischen Unternehmungen? So viel ist sicher, neben der Präsentation und Analyse zentraler Werke wurde mit Kunst um 1800 versucht, eine alternative Kunstgeschichte zu schreiben und somit Kritik an Geschichtsbildern sowie Gesellschaftsmodellen zu formulieren: Es war das Anliegen, einen historischen und systematischen Überblick über die ästhetischen, politischen und technischen Veränderungen der Zeit um 1800 und ihrer Folgen für die Künste des langen 19. Jahrhunderts – dem sogenannten Zeitalter der Revolutionen – zu geben. Dabei liefert der Ausstellungszyklus auch Antworten auf die damals von Max Horkheimer und Theodor W. Adorno vertretene Vorstellung einer Dialektik der Aufklärung, insbesondere auf die komplexen Verschlingungen von Freiheitsstreben und Selbstzerstörung. Die Reihe eröffnet – als eine Art Re-Education – somit einen größeren Kontext, etwa für die Aufarbeitung des deutschen Faschismus und die Etablierung einer streitbaren Demokratie. Innerhalb dieser kuratorischen Methodologie, die sich auf die Hamburger wie Wiener Schule der Kunstgeschichte bezog, fanden sich visuelle Formen des Protestes und Aufbegehrens von 1968. Wie verhält sich das Projekt jedoch zu den damals einsetzenden poststrukturalistischen Diskursen und Theoretiker*innen, die zunehmend im deutschsprachigen Raum rezipiert wurden? Zwar erscheint die Moderne inzwischen als die Antike der Globalisierung, die Geschichte ihrer Bilder, Dinge und Prozesse haben wir aber immer noch nicht hinreichend verstanden. Die Hamburger Ausstellung in neuen Etappen unternahm diesen Versuch in den 1970er Jahren auf modellhafte Weise und rückte die Wirkmacht von Kunstwerken ins Zentrum. Wir fragen danach, welchen Werkzeugkasten das praktisch-wissenschaftliche Verfahren Kunst um 1800 bereitstellt und welche Relevanz der Zyklus für heute besitzt.

Die Ausstellungen des Zyklus Kunst um 1800, Hamburger Kunsthalle

- Ossian und die Kunst um 1800                                     09.05.1974 – 23.06.1974

- Caspar David Friedrich                                                  14.09.1974 – 03.11.1974

- Johann Heinrich Füssli                                                   04.12.1974 – 19.01.1975

- William Blake. Kunst um 1800                                      06.03.1975 – 27.04.1975

- Johan Tobias Sergel                                                       22.05.1975 – 21.11.1975

- William Turner und die Landschaft seiner Zeit          19.05.1976 – 18.07.1976

- Runge in seiner Zeit                                                        21.10.1977 – 08.01.1978

- John Flaxmann. Mythologie und Industrie                  20.04.1979 – 03.06.1979

- Goya. Das Zeitalter der Revolutionen                         17.10.1980 – 04.01.1981

Gefördert von der Liebelt Stiftung, Hamburg, Fritz Thyssen StiftungKunsthalle Hamburg, Universität Hamburg

Bild: Suzanne Treister, MI3 (Machine Intelligence 3): William Blake, Jerusalem (ca. 1800–1820), 2018, (c) die Künstlerin